# EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH IN CANADA REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS

Elections will be held at the 2013 ELCIC National Convention (taking place as part of the 2013 Joint Assembly) in Ottawa, ON, July 3-7, 2013 for vacant positions on the ELCIC National Church Council, the Board of Directors of ELCIC Group Services, Inc. and the ELCIC Court of Adjudication.

The positions for National Church Council are pursuant to ELCIC Administrative Bylaws Part IX, Section 2;

"The Executive Committee of the council shall consist of the officers of this church. In addition to the officers there shall be sixteen (16) elected members of National Church Council: one rostered minister and one lay person from each of the synods of British Columbia and Manitoba/Northwestern Ontario, one rostered minister and two lay persons from each of the synods of Alberta and Saskatchewan, and three rostered ministers and three lay persons from the Eastern Synod."

For officers on National Church Council are pursuant to ELCIC Administrative Bylaws, Part VIII, Section 2;

"The election of officers shall proceed without oral nominations, except that the National Church Council shall nominate a person for the office of treasurer. If the first ballot does not result in election, it shall be considered a nominating ballot. The officers shall be elected in the following order: bishop, secretary, treasurer, and vice-president."

For ELCIC Group Services, Inc., ELCIC GSI Inc. Bylaws Section 4.03.1;

"...At the annual meeting of the member of the Corporation held in 2013 the member shall elect one individual as a director for a term of office of four (4) years. Such individual must be nominated by the 2013 ELCIC Convention and must not be a member of the ELCIC Pension Plan at the time of such nomination."

And for ELCIC Court of Adjudication, ELCIC Constitution Article XVIII Section 2.

"The Court of Adjudication shall consist of seven members, four lay and three rostered, who shall be elected by the convention for a term of four years. No member may hold a position on Church Council, synod council or a synodical committee for theological education and leadership. No member shall serve more than two consecutive terms. A vacancy occurring **ad interim** may be filled by the National Church Council until the next regular convention, which shall fill the unexpired term."

The Committee on Nominations is required to nominate two persons for each position to be filled on National Church Council, ELCIC Group Services Inc. and Court of Adjudication. All nominations should include the name, address, telephone number and a brief resume of the nominee, clearly identifying the specific position. For a copy of the "Biographical Data Form", look on the home page of the 2013 Joint Assembly web site located at <a href="http://www.jointassembly.ca">www.jointassembly.ca</a> for the drop down box "For Delegates" and then choose the option "Delegate Information: ELCIC". Nomination for the officers is done at Convention.

Deadline for submission of nominations is Thursday, January 31, 2013.

Email to: jointassembly@elcic.ca or mail to:

Office of the Secretary Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada 302–393 Portage Avenue Winnipeg MB R3B 3H6

Murray Walter, Secretary

The following list indicates each position, the synod to be represented, whether the nominee is to be a layperson or a rostered minister, and the length of the term. The incumbents are listed indicating (e) eligible for re-election and (i) ineligible for re-election.

#### Officers

Vice-President	4 years	Sheila Hamilton (e)
----------------	---------	---------------------

### **National Church Council**

BC	Lay	4 years	Jeannie Stann (e)
ABT	Rostered	4 years	Trish Schmermund (i)
ABT	Lay	4 years	Barb Stolee (e)
SK	Lay	4 years	Heidi Hesselink (i)
MNO	Rostered	4 years	Matthew Diegel (e)
E	Rostered	4 years	Doug Reble (i)
E	Lay	4 years	Edward Pope (i)
Е	Lay	4 years	Marie-Laure Collett (e)

#### **ELCIC Group Services Inc.**

	Non plan member	4 years	George Sawatzky (i)
--	-----------------	---------	---------------------

## **Court of Adjudication**

Rostered	4 years	Stephen Kristenson (e)
Lay	4 years	Roger Kingsley (e)
Lay	4 years	Martin Bergbusch (i)

<u>Synod</u> BC

BC British Columbia Synod

ABT Synod of Alberta and the Territories

SK Saskatchewan Synod

MNO Manitoba/Northwestern Ontario Synod

E Eastern Synod